M/S Birger Jarl History
M/S Birger Jarl was laid down in 1951 at Finnboda shipyard in Nacka, Stockholm. It was built for the shipping company Rederi AB Svea and was given the name S/S Birger Jarl after a Swedish statesman who played a pivotal role in consolidation of Sweden.
M/S Birger Jarl is one of so called Olympia ships as she together with her sister ships (S/S Aallotar and S/S Bore III) were built for the Helsinki 1952 Summer Olympics. However, she entered into service a year after the Olympic games and her maiden voyage was in June of 1953 from Stockholm to Helsinki, Finland. Since 1979 the classic liner Birger Jarl owned by Ånedinlinjen operated on a cruise service between Stockholm, Sweden and Mariehamn on Åland Islands, Finland.
In June 2013 the cruises stopped until further notice and the ship turned into a floating hostel under the name Ånedin Hostel now changed to M/S Birger Jarl. She is now docked close to Birka cruises terminal, just a few meters from Stockholm’s Old Town, a near-ideal location for a hostel.
Built in 1953, the ship managed to preserve the original wooden interiors and has been listed as culturally significant among other historic ships of Sweden in 2010. Any kind of reconstruction that spoils the historical interior is not allowed.
Birger Jarl now offers a unique historical accommodation to all Stockholm visitors.
Information about M/S Birger Jarl
M/S Birger Jarl is 92,40 meters long 14,25 meters wide, the draft is 4,90 meters and the weight is 2798 tons. Orignial steam engines were replaced by diesel engines in 1982 and since then, the ship's prefix has been altered to M/S. M/S Birger Jarl has 7 decks of which 6 contains cabins for crew and passengers.
Leif-Ivan, the owner of M/S Birger Jarl is a super entrepreneur and has a great vision for the M/S Birger Jarl. She will be restored and the plan is that she will become Stockholm's new entertainment center.